On the Home Stretch, Staying Home | Week 12

Today was the day I was supposed to run my first timed half marathon, but instead of making my way down the home stretch in Ventura, I ended up on the couch working on the home stretch of my computer science homework. It’s really frustrating to be sidelined with my knee injury, but I know it’s for the best in the long term.

In another sense, we’re starting the home stretch of the Fall semester, and I’m unsure whether to be relieved, or nostalgic, or nervous, or scared, or excited. The good news is that Dr. Biederman offered me a position in his lab, and I sat with Dave and broke the news this past Friday. It was a really difficult decision, but I think this is the best career decision (sounds weird to be making “career decisions” at 20 year old). I’m kind of sad to be leaving the Mather Lab, but hopefully this all works out!

At the same time as I’m trying to integrate into the Image Understanding Lab, I need to juggle CS homework for both Software and Robotics, yet another midterm in Cognitive Neuroscience, and the projects I’ve already committed to in my old lab. I’m hoping that this is somehow the storm before the calm, but that seems pretty unlikely. I’ll have more updates in that department as the semester winds down.

Right now I have to get back to work, but before I forget– the other good news is that I found a place to live next semester! I’ll be subleasing from a guy I know really well, Connor, so I’m excited that the whole subleasing saga of 2014 has been resolved.

Bye, blog!

Leave a Reply

