180 Degrees | Week 10

This past week has the potential to rank as the most hectic one of my collegiate career. Where to start? I talked with Dr. Biederman, the director of our undergraduate neuroscience program, and we decided that my skills/goals/career path is more closely aligned with the BS in Computational Neuroscience than the BA in Neuroscience I had been pursuing. So I changed my major and committed to rounding out the BS, graduating with honors, still pursuing my minor and taking at least 3 graduate level courses.

Now, I know that you’re thinking– Eshed, how do you have time for all of this? Easy, I just don’t go abroad. So today I let USC and Melbourne know that I’ll be staying here next semester, and accordingly, started searching for housing for next semester. At the same time, I’m meeting with Dr. Biederman again later this week to discuss the possibility of waiving the requirement to take Calculus II, and simultaneously asking him for details on the possibility of switching labs and working for the Image Understanding Lab. The development on that front is a little more uncertain, partially because I’m not even sure that I fully understand what I want from my last year and a half here at USC.

It’s really been a whirlwind (almost typed world-wind, that’s how you know my brain is fried) this past week, and it’s all been equal parts exciting and intimidating. Nevertheless, I feel confident that I’m up for the challenge and I’m excited to launch back into math and engineering, which I had been neglecting.

I don’t really know how I feel about it all, to be honest. I haven’t had a second to stop and think and reflect on my feelings. When I finally catch up with everything, I’ll try my best to jot it down, but it’s hard when life is going 75mph in a school zone (drive 25, keep kids alive!).

In lighter, less serious news, tomorrow will be my first XC practice in a little while since I’ve been letting my knees rest a little bit– my goal is to stay in good shape for my half marathon in two weeks! Also very excited about that. In the very short term, I’ve just been studying for my Robotics midterm tomorrow and doing calculus problems in the meantime. Anyway, I’m ready for whatever this week throws at me. I can do this!

Bye, blog!

Leave a Reply

